Rae’s Interview With LLP

Rae Winters is the featured author this month on Lady Leo Publishing Company.

1). Introduce yourself to your fans.

Hello, I’m Rae Winters, and I’m a native New Yorker. My love for romance books started at the age of ten. Many days, I was locked up in the bathroom reading a book, instead of doing my chores. My zodiac sign is the Gemini—the twin sign, and on any given day, I’ve been known to have two personalities. D. F. Mitchell is the serious, inspirational side of me, while Rae Winters is racy and adventurous.  

2). Who/what inspired you to write?

I loved to create romantic stories in my head with a happily ever after ending. 

3). What other works have you published?

I’ve published book reviews, sensual poems, and confession stories for five national women’s confession/romance magazines.

4). How long have you been writing?

In 2003, I finally put my stories down on paper. Prior to that time, I created them in my head.

5). What are your goals as a writer?

My serious side intends to write women’s fiction stories. I want to write stories that inspire and motivate women.

6). What can fans expect to find when they read one of your stories?

I’ll always try to entertain them while weaving a hidden message within the story.

7). What do you hope fans take away after reading one of your stories?

I like to mesmerize readers and transport them into my world.

8). How do you come up with characters?

My characters talk to me. Even after I’ve plotted a story, I allow them to lead me.

9). Are the characters based on real-life situations?

Sometimes, I’ll take a real-life situation; and at other times, I’ll let my imagination lead me.

10). What excites you most about being a writer?

I was thrilled to see the finished product of my first e-book, Unfinished Business and the stages it took to get to completion.

11). What challenges have you faced as a writer?

Marketing my work and promoting my name as a brand have been a challenge. Most people can’t get past the no-book-concept, and are used to holding a physical book in their hands. E-books are the wave of the future. Think about the space you save on your bookshelves! Purchasing an e-book reader will allow you to transfer your e-books from your computer to e-book reader. There’s free software that will allow you to transfer your e-book to your iPod or cell phone.  

12). What do you consider your greatest achievement as a writer?

I was thrilled to see my first e-book, and now I have six e-books published by LLP. One of my fans requested longer stories. I’ve completed two erotic tales: one is a 96-pager, and the other is 145 pages. One is ready for submission, and the other is being edited. 

13). How do you balance writing with your personal life/profession life?

For the past two years, I’ve been a caregiver for my terminally ill father. He passed away in January from cancer. Writing helped me to keep my sanity while watching his body slowly deteriorate. Right now, the loss is still fresh; but one day, I plan to write an inspirational story based on my dad and my experience as a caregiver. My dad was an exceptional father, and the sacrifices he made to support his family are what every father should be to their family. I was blessed to have him and my mom—who are both now in eternal rest.   

14). Who/what has been your biggest supporter?

Nathasha Brooks-Harris has always been in my corner cheering me on. She pushes me to do my research, plot out my story, and to incorporate the five senses into the plot so that a reader can visualize everything they’re reading.   

15). What would you like the fans to know about you?

Lately, I’ve been writing romantic stories because I was dealing with my father’s illness. I needed to escape my present situation. My serious side will pursue writing inspirational stories that will inspire my readers.

16). What would you like to say to your fans?

I thank you for your support and e-mails. I enjoyed hearing from Linda Young and Sharon Mahones—my first fans who emailed me and wrote reviews of my stories. I appreciated their critique of my work and their honesty.

17). What advice do you have for aspiring writers?

It’s important to study the craft—enroll in writing workshops and online classes to help you polish up your skill. Another way is to form a critique group to review your work. It may be painful at time, but it’s good to get other people’s opinion of your work.

18). What can we expect from you next?

I’m working on my first women’s fiction novella, Make Me Remember. I’ve also completed two erotica novellas. Tangled Sheets is being edited, and the second novella, Caribbean Heat, is ready for submission. Both of these novellas are racier than anything I’ve published so far. As far as for Cub Bites, there’s one more story to my “Girlfriends” Series: “Blindsided by Love,” and the last in the Romance Series, “Unfaithful” will be available for submission soon.

19). How can fans get in contact with you?

I love to hear from my readers. You can email me at raew154@gmail.com.

Visit me online, and don’t forget to sign my “Embrace Me” page of my website at http://www.raewinters.com, and check out my blog at www.rae154.wordpress.com.

20). What else would you like readers to know about you?

I enjoy working with my hands. I crochet doilies, blankets, and sew quilts.

Leave a comment